top of page

Book Review: Black Privilege: Opportunity Comes To Those Who Create It by Charlamagne Tha God


If you are looking for a good summer read that's going to make you laugh, get your life and slightly educate you then I recommend Charlamagne Tha God's Black Privilege: Opportunity Comes To Those Who Create It.

I actually did not read the book, rather I listened to it on Audible, but honestly I think that's the best way to take in the book. Because Charlamagne narrated it, you really get to hear how he interprets the character's voice, and the tone of his anecdotes. I'd give it a 5-star rating. When he got to the acknowledgements, I said out loud, "what?! the book is over?" I was that into it to the point that I was sad that it was over.

I would describe the book as inspirational/motivational, humorous and authentic. If you don't already know Charlamagne, he is one of the co-hosts of the morning syndicated radio show The Breakfast Club, co-star on MTV2's Guy Code, Guy Court and Girl Code and host of Uncommon Sense. He is known for being brutally honest and calling people out on their shit. He carries that attitude through out the book except he is mostly calling himself out.

He tells his success story and mentions his many mistakes and set-backs but attributes living in his truth to how he got to where he is at now. I thought that it was inspirational/motivational because of his come-up in the entertainment media industry, where I ultimately want to be. He made me feel like if I continue to grind hard, live in my own truth and keep my faith alive that I too can be successful. I appreciated the book and even if you can't relate to him on every topic there will be parts where you feel like you can identify.

Before reading this book, I thought Charlamagne was kind of a jerk-face but I have a newfound respect for him, so shout out to Charlamagne Tha God for the success, (New York Times Bestseller list) of his first book.

Follow Offbeat Notes
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Instagram Social Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page