top of page

Done With the Beef, Going Vegan


So, I was just listening to Big Sean's new song "No More Interviews" he addressed a lot of rumors in his life including his beef with G.O.O.D Music specifically with Kanye and Kid Cudi. But it got me thinking about all this rap beef that has been going on for years, but now that I am more in tune with music it seems like its over silly things and miscommunication and has gotten to the point where it doesn't make any sense.

Rap beef is nothing new, the biggest and most fatal one was obviously Tupac versus The Notorious B.I.G. It would seem that the way that beef ended it would make others in the rap community not even go there, but unfortunately it didn't end there. Since then there have been beefs with Jay- Z and Nas and most recently Drake and Meek Mill, The Game and 50 Cent, The Game and Meek Mill, Drake and Kid Cudi, Lupe Fiasco and Kid Cudi, Lil Wayne and Birdman and I am sure the list goes on. But what is it all really about, money? you stole my shine? I thought we were cool? you snitched? or just miscommunication? Honestly I don't know, but as a fan of rap music doesn't it seem like positive songs that make you feel good, want to dance, or instill a sense of pride and confidence go a lot further than a rushed dissed track that makes you mad at somebody?

In a time where our society is really trying to stand up against bullying especially for minorities you would think that the rappers would want to communicate the anti-bullying message to their fans and even their children. A lot of these rappers that are involved in these beefs have young children and/or young fans and to me it is hypocritical for them to be in interviews talking about stop the bullying in school and on social media when they themselves are participating in it.

I know it is foolish of me to want peace in the rap community and end the diss tracks because so many people feed into it and it is the main topic of conversation for a lot of media, but is it wrong to want rappers to act the way they tell others to act whentalking about respecting each other? I don't think so. I get that sometimes their rap "personalities" are not who they really are, but there has to be some type of uniformity in who they present themselves as. If it didn't end with the murdering of two of the greatest rappers ever it probably won't end. But I think some of the reasoning behind the beefs and the diss tracks could probably be solved with simple conversations. I would just like the rappers of today to be better role models for their fans and for their children and make a change for the better.

I want to give props to two of my favorite rappers T.I. and Ludacris. They use to have some stupid beef back in the day but they squashed it because they realized they had to for their fans and for their kids, also T.I. and the late Shawty Lo once had a beef about who the "King of Bankhead" is, but they too squashed it for the same reasons. Its humbling for rappers to do that and it makes them more likable and relatable to their fans. No one is perfect, people are going to not like others in their industry no matter what it is, but the grown up thing to do is to move forward, move on and not let it consume you. Let's come together and not support the ignorance of rap and the diss tracks

Follow Offbeat Notes
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Instagram Social Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page